23
Aug
10

Reunion / Wiedersehen

Wednesday, August 18, 2010

A Wednesday without CDs.
But in the morning UPS wakes me up to inform me they were arriving tomorrow.
The 1:15pm-performance works much better than the one I had yesterday at 12:15.pm
There’s much more going on the ground.
People are asking me for my CDs.
My fear of them not arriving before next week is growing.
During my break I meet Thomas Scott, the “organizer”.
I secured the entry fee long ago and today I amortize my debt.
A nice feeling. I get another poster of the bygone year.
That’s been a wish of mine, as it’s been one of the coolest festival posters I’ve ever seen.
It’ll take a pride of place at my living room.
This city in the North: Edmonton… what is happening here to me is thus exceeding.
I absolutely want to attend the Fringe next year again.
A German, who is living in Canada for a long time,
explains to be that Stephen Harper was comparable to Franz Josef Strauss…Strewth!

At 6:15 p.m I’ve got a quite big audience in front of the Journal-Stage.
Some spectators are coming more often.
One of them is obviously attending all of my concerts.

After the gig I see John leaving the hotel entrance.
John!” A reunion.
He’s pounding some second-hand-stores here at Atlanta now,
While Claire is taking care of the store in Winnipeg.
We’re hanging around on the Fringe-ground and I’m bringing him into the “Scratch”-show.
A teenybopper-party with highly nasty teens turns to become the funniest scene of the evening to me.
John is thrilled.
Scratch is sold out every evening.
A nice feeling. Every time I walk to the B-Scenes- Studio, a giant queue is waiting in front for entrance.

After Scratch we’re going to the Late Night.
I watch a female clown stripping there, for the first time of my life,
And still don’t get why that’s turning me on.
I remember being turned on at the age of 12 when I saw Mini Mouse in a comic.
There’s much more needed now…
Chris Gibbs, an unbelievable great Comedian tells in the Late Night,
He was sending packages to his son, while being far away on tour.
Thereby he bashes the Canadian post, which reminds me of my CDs again.
I’m always really worn out at the Late Night.
Certain parts of my arms and fingers are hurting right now or rather won’t resist further imposition.
I intend to hang on for 4 more days…
John is tired because of the drive and I’m exhausted.
We’re taking it up in an easy manner and are going to bed.

________________________________________________________________________

Mittwoch 18. August 2010

Ein Mittwoch ohne CDs.
Aber morgens weckt mich UPS, um mir mitzuteilen, dass die morgen kommen.
Der 13.15 Uhr-Auftritt gelingt besser als der gestrige 12.15’er.
Es ist mehr los auf dem Gelände.
Menschen fragen mich nach meinen CDs.
Meine Angst, dass die erst nächste Woche ankommen wächst.
In meiner Pause treffe ich Thomas Scott, den „Organisator“ hier.
Das Startgeld habe ich längst eingespielt und heute tilge ich meine Schuld.
Ein gutes Gefühl. Ich bekomme noch ein Poster aus dem vergangenen Jahr.
Das war ein Wunsch von mir, da es eines der coolsten Festivalposter war, dass ich je gesehen habe.
Es wird einen Ehrenplatz in meiner Wohnung bekommen.
Diese Stadt im Norden: Edmonton…. Was hier für mich passiert ist so gewaltig.
Ich will unbedingt nächstes Jahr wieder zum Fringe!
Ein deutscher, der schon lange in Kanada lebt erklärt mir,
dass Stephen Harper mit Franz-Josef Strauss vergleichbar sei…. Oh mein Gott!

Um 18.15 Uhr habe ich ein recht grosses Publikum auf der Journal-Bühne.
Manche Zuschauer kommen häufiger.
Einer kommt scheinbar immer zu meinen Konzerten.

Nach dem Auftritt latsche ich zum Hotel und sehe John aus dem Eingang kommen.
John!“ Ein Wiedersehen.
Er klappert jetzt hier in Alberta einige Second-Hand-Läden ab,
während Claire sich in Winnipeg um den Laden kümmert.
Wir hängen ein wenig auf dem Fringe-Gelände ab und ich bringe ihn bei „Scratch“ in die Show.
Eine Teenie-Party mit hochversauten Teens wird eine der lustigsten Szenen des Abends für mich.
John ist begeistert.
Scratch ist jeden Abend ausverkauft.
Ein gutes Gefühl. Immer wenn ich zum B-Scenes-Studio laufe,
steht da schon eine gewaltige Schlange vor der Tür und wartet auf Einlass.

Nach Scratch gehen wir rüber zur Late-Night.
Da sehe ich zum ersten Mal in meinem Leben einen weibliche Clown strippen
und weiss bis jetzt nicht, warum mich das erregt.
Mir fällt ein, dass ich als 12 jähriger erregt war, wenn ich Mini Maus im Comic gesehen habe.
Da brauch es jetzt schon mehr.
Chris Gibbs. Ein unglaublich guter Comedian erzählt in der Late-Night,
dass er seinem Sohn immer Päckchen schickt aus der Ferne vom Touren.
Dabei macht er die kanadische Post madig und ich denke wieder an meine CDs.
Zur Late-Night bin ich jetzt immer ganz schön alle.
Bestimmte Teile meiner Arme und Finger schmerzen grad; bzw. halten kaum weiterer Belastung stand.
Noch 4 Tage will ich durchhalten…

John ist müde vom Fahren und ich bin alle.
Wir lasen es ruhig angehen und gehen schlafen.

.

Cellolitis @ Edmonton Fringe Jurnal Stage - August 12, 2010 (Photo: Warren Bowen)


0 Responses to “Reunion / Wiedersehen”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


August 2010
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Um neue Beiträge per E-Mail zu erhalten, hier die E-Mail-Adresse eingeben.

Join 9 other subscribers

RSS facebook

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.